Community UCC Fresno

No matter who you are, or where you are on your journey, you are welcome here.


Rev. Dr. Christopher Breedlove: “Community UCC is an inclusive and progressive Christian church doing social justice, environmental faithfulness, interfaith collaboration and spiritual formation.”

We are a progressive church.  Our denomination, United Church of Christ, has an impressive history of “firsts”: first denomination to ordain an African American pastor, first to ordain a woman pastor and first to ordain an openly gay pastor (and we are proud that our founding pastor, Reverend Henry Hayden, performed this ordination).

We are a service-oriented church.  We believe in actively living God’s mission within the community and helping those in need.  We are an inclusive and progressive, Just Peace community engaged in acts of social justice, environmental faithfulness, interfaith collaboration and spiritual formation.

We are environmentally responsible.  We understand that we have a responsibility to be good stewards of God’s creation and our precious resources.  Community UCC was the first church in Fresno to install solar panels.  Our grounds are xeriscaped using drought tolerant plants, rocks and drip irrigation.

Click here to learn some of our church’s rich history.

Click here to learn the stories behind the beautiful stained glass windows in our Sanctuary and Narthex.


Senior Pastor: Reverend Dr. Christopher Breedlove

Pastor Chris Breedlove

Chris’s natural habitation is out on his backyard porch with an interesting book or practicing mind soothing meditation.  He also enjoys spinning vinyl records with his family and hanging out with friends from both the Fresno and church community.  And when he’s really content, it’s usually when he’s up in the mountains or under a nighttime canopy of bright stars.

As far as church goes, Pastor Chris enjoys a variety of theological thought and the meaningful challenge of meeting members where they are in life with poignant messages of progressive and compassionate faith.

Solidarity with local community members and transformative acts of social justice are matters close to Chris’s focus, as well as the deepening and encouraging of each congregation member’s unique and diverse sense of faith.

Pastor Chris believes that church can be a healthy and enriching sacred experience.  Grace, honest doubts, humble faith, intellectual curiosity, genuine humor, kind presence, and friendship are some of the qualities that are important to Chris’s pastoral ministry.


Commissioned Minister of Christian Education: Robin Carlson

Robin CarlsonRobin is a creative spirit who loves to grow. She has a passion for learning and helping others on their spiritual journey. Robin can be found behind the scenes at most Church events making things happen and giving others credit. If you had to describe her in one word it would be “Centered.” As a mother of three boys, she understands how to teach our youth and youngest members. Email:

Music/Choir Director: E.J. Hinojosa

E.J. HinojosaE.J. believes that music is for everyone and that the universe is a masterpiece of cosmic symphony. Currently a Music Education major at Fresno Pacific University, EJ enjoys the study of music as much as he enjoys the practice of it. He is an aspiring composer and enjoys writing music for himself and for Community UCC, where he feels self-expression is encouraged and appreciated. Recently married to the love of his life, EJ enjoys cooking and watching documentaries that make him feel weird and existential. Email:

Administrative Assistant: Marilyn Wall

Marilyn WallMarilyn knows all things CUCC.  She has been with the Church for over 20 years and prides herself as our resident historian and chief of the office.  She will disarm anyone with a warm smile and a kind word of encouragement. Marilyn likes to read anything interesting and loves the CUCC family. Email:

Church Governance:

At CUCC’s Annual Congregational Meeting, new congregational members were added to the several of our leadership committees.  We want to thank everyone who stepped up to help lead our church and to our incumbents that have volunteered many hours of service. And there are still open opportunities who others with a desire to share their talents and time.

Nominating Committee Report  from the Annual Meeting on June 4, 2017

* Indicates those being elected at this time


  • Moderator – *Nancy Pressley (18)
  • Vice Moderator – *Amy Kilburn (18)       
  • Clerk – *Jeannie Hobson (18)             
  • Treasurer – *Carol Kilburn (18)           
  • Council Members at Large – *Vicky Wall (18), * Marie Edwards (18)           


  • Bob Garcia (18)
  • Jacque Garcia (18) 
  • *Open (18)
  • *Joe Mack (19)
  • *Ann Scott (19)
  • *Elizabeth Davis-Russell(19)
  • *Penny Carroll (20)
  • Open (20)
  • Open (20)


  • *Sam Mahtab (18)
  • Helmut Kloos (18)
  • Krizstina Miko (18)
  • Ruben Fernandez (18)
  • Open (19)
  • *Bob Garcia (19)
  • *Jacque Garcia (19)
  • Patrick Furlong (19)
  • Lisa Boyles (19)
  • Open (20)
  • Open (20)
  • Open (20)

ELDERS – The Extravagant Welcome Team

  • *Janet Capella (18)
  • *Virginia Virag (18)
  • Bryan Clark (18)
  • Donna Wright  (19)
  • Susan Chavez (19)
  • Lynn Samuelian  (19)
  • Open (20)
  • Open (20)
  • Open (20)


  • Becky Garth-Nelson (18)
  • Steve Reynolds (18)
  • Karri Jones (18)
  • Eileen White (18)
  • Shelia Earl (19)
  • *Cheryl Jones (19)
  • *Jazzie Wall  (19)
  • *Barbara Kilburn (20)
  • *Bonita Earl  (20)
  • *Stacy Fazio (20)


  • Amy Richardson (18)
  • Bonita Earl (18)
  • Wendy Thompson (18)
  • *Patty Parks (19)
  • Marge Kelly (19)
  • *Penny Carroll (19)
  • *Sharon Powers (20)
  • Open (20)
  • Open (20)


  • Stacy Fazio (18)                
  • Dala Ramirez (19)                
  • Bryan Clark (19)                
  • Roger Wall  (19)                
  • Sue Hipp  (19)                 
  • Open (19)                


  • *Sue Hipp (19)               
  • Gary Walker (19)                
  • Mike Smith (19)                


  • *Nancy Pressley  (17)
  • *Amy Kilburn (17)
  • Youth Delegate


  • *Nancy Pressley (17)
  • *Amy Kilburn (17)

MISSION OUTREACH                      

  • Al Evans (18)
  • Emma Haring (18)
  • *Cristi Newport (18)
  • Dena Reynolds (19)
  • *Elizabeth Davis-Russell (19)
  • Open (19)
  • Open (20)
  • Open (20)
  • Open (20)


  • Sue Hipp (18)
  • Sharon Powers (18)
  • Open (18)
  • *Ruben Fernandez (19)
  • Michelle Williams (19)
  • Roger Wall (19)


  • *Amy Kilburn (18)
  • Eileen White (18)
  • Annie Van Patten (19)
  • Robin Carlson (staff) (19)
  • Open (19)
  • Open (19)


  • Arville Earl  (18)
  • Emma Haring (18)
  • Amy Breedlove (18)
  • *Felicia Rocha (19)
  • *Carter Reynolds (19)
  • Open (19)
  • Open (19)
  • Open (20)
  • Open (20)



%d bloggers like this: